Rising Star Communicator

The Rising Star Communicator Scholarship

Each year, the Tulsa professional chapter of AWC awards up to two $1,500 scholarships to outstanding student members. These scholarships will be awarded at the annual AWC Tulsa Professional Chapter Newsmakers Luncheon on May 3, 2017.

We are now accepting  2017 Rising Star Award Applications from now through March 31, 2017. New this year, we are adding a one-year membership to the Association for Women in Communications. We are paying for your national and local dues! 

Winners are selected based on demonstrated excellence in communications, positive contributions toward communication on campus and/or in the community, demonstrated commitment to a career in the communications profession and scholastic achievement. The Scholarship Application Nomination Guidelines include the criteria and submission instructions. 

Rising Star Communicator Award Winners

To be announced at the annual Newsmakers Luncheon on May 3, 2017

Applications will be open for the 2017 Rising Star Award. Check back for details!


Past Rising Star Communicator Award Winners

•Alexis Birdsong - 2016
•Lindsey Boulden - 2016
•Alex Batchelor-Strohm – 2015
•Sarah Rogers – 2015
•Sarah Hartley – 2014
•Katie Snyder – 2014
•Heather Crain – 2013
•Tanner Thurman – 2013
•Megan Sando – 2012
•Stephanie K. Taylor and Rachel Noland; Oklahoma State University – 2011
•Phyllis McLemore – 2010
•Cortney Hicks, Oklahoma State University  – 2009
•Allison Broyles, Oklahoma State University – 2009
•Maria Gaw, University of Tulsa – 2007
•Lauren Lott, Oklahoma State University – 2007
•Morgan Chaney, Oklahoma State University – 2006
•Jessica Ward, Oklahoma State University – 2006
•Amanda Hoel, University of Tulsa – 2005
•Amanda Martin, Oklahoma State University – 2005

Please contact your student chapter liaison for more information by emailing student@awctulsa.org.