2020 Newsmakers

April 29, 2020
11:30 AM - 1:00 PM
 Add to Calendar

Southern Hills Country Club
2636 East 61st St.
Tulsa, OK 74136
Venue website

The Tulsa Chapter of the Association for Women in Communications has a long-standing tradition of honoring outstanding women at our annual Newsmakers Awards Luncheon. Each spring, we recognize three Newsmakers for their significant, newsworthy contributions to the advancement of women and our community. We also honor one woman with the Saidie Lifetime Achievement Award, for substantial achievements in Oklahoma during her career in the communications field. 

Proceeds from the Newsmakers Awards Luncheon provide AWC Rising Star Communicator scholarships to students pursuing communications degrees, and books for each student at our adopted school, Anderson Elementary. 

The 47th Annual Newsmakers Awards Luncheon will be held Wednesday, April 29, 11:30 to 1:00 at Southern Hills Country Club. In observance of the 100th anniversary of the 19th amendment, which gave women the right to vote, Newsmakers 2020 will have a special theme highlighting the suffragette newsmakers of the early 1900s.  

Please join us to honor these modern-day Newsmakers: 

Aliye Shimi, Executive Director of Tulsa Metropolitan Ministry

Shimi has been recognized by national and international organizations for her 20 years of leadership in the interfaith community and significant work to prevent crime and violence. Shimi is currently working with victims of human trafficking in Tulsa and leading the fundraising effort to build a facility to serve the needs of these survivors. 

Lisa Shotts, Executive Director, Gaining Ground and Union Public Schools Teacher of the Year 2019

Shotts is driven by her desire to ignite a passion for reading in students, especially those in underserved areas. That mission has led her from the classroom to literacy consulting and to a six-week teaching position in Uganda, Africa. That experience inspired her to establish the nonprofit Gaining Ground. Its mission is to bridge the literacy gap for students in poverty. Since its founding in 2017, Gaining Ground has provided more than 40,000 new books to 4,000 students in the Tulsa area.

Kim Teehee, Cherokee Nation Businesses Senior Vice President of Government Relations and Cherokee Nation Delegate to Congress 

In 2019, Cherokee Nation Principal Chief Chuck Hoskin Jr. named Kim Teehee the tribe’s first delegate to the U.S. House of Representatives. This is far from Teehee’s first role on the national level. She previously served President Barack Obama as the first-ever Senior Policy Advisor for Native American Affairs in the White House Domestic Policy Council. Teehee is especially proud of her work toward the Administration’s support of proposed legislation to hold all perpetrators of domestic violence accountable for their crimes against Native American women, closing a jurisdictional gap in Indian country.

Joy Harjo, Poet Laureate of the United States 2019-2020

Harjo is the 23rd Poet Laureate of the United States, but the first Native American appointed to the consultancy position with the Library of Congress. A member of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation, Harjo is the author of nine books of poetry and two children’s books. Harjo is also an accomplished musician and is currently working on a musical play. Her list of awards includes the Ruth Lily Prize for Lifetime Achievement from the Poetry Foundation, the Academy of American Poets Wallace Stevens Award and the PEN USA Literacy Award. In addition to serving as Poet Laureate, Harjo is chancellor of the Academy of American Poets, holds a Tulsa Artist Fellowship, directs For Girls Becoming, an arts mentorship program for young Mvskoke (Muscogee) women, and is a founding board member of the Native Arts and Cultures Foundation. 

Thank you to these sponsors: 

Cherokee Nation Businesses and Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Click here to see complete sponsor benefits.


$55.00 Individual Ticket - Member Price

$65.00 Individual Ticket -- Non Member Price

$250.00 Writers' Round Table

$600.00 Editors' Round Table

$1,500.00 Publishers' Round Table (Unlimited Available)

$3,000.00 Headliners' Round Table Sponsor (Three Available)

$5,000.00 Presenting Sponsor (One Available)